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Questions

1. Looking For Employment
2. Minimum Wage
3. Problems with State Job Application
4. VEC Workforce Center Hours
5. Wage, Work Hours/Breaks, Labor Disputes, Final Paychecks & Failure To Pay Overtime
6. Work Permits For Youth
7. Virginia Labor and Employment laws

Answers

1. Looking For Employment
The best way to find employment whether part time or full time is to visit the Virginia
Workforce Connection [2] website.

The Virginia Workforce Connection is your doorway to employment and labor
market information in Virginia. You will have access to new job search tools, a
resume builder, employment information, wage data, occupational skill
requirements, as well as industry and occupational trends. You will have access
to jobs posted on numerous websites in one location.
You can download the state application from the link in the left menu. The
application is available in either Adobe PDF, Word Perfect or Microsoft Word
formats from this site.Back to top 

 
2. Minimum Wage

The minimum wage is $7.25 per hour (as of July 24, 2009) and is applicable to employers
of 4 or more employees. The Virginia state minimum wage law does not contain current
dollar minimums. Instead the state adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.
For more information you may contact the Department of Labor and Industry at (804)
371-2327.Back to top 

 
3. Problems with State Job Application

The State Job Application is located on the DHRM website. If you are having any
problems with the state Job Application, please contact their Webmaster [3].Back to top 

 
4. VEC Workforce Center Hours

Workforce Centers are generally open weekdays 8:30 am till 4:30 pm. Our offices have
the option to adjust hours of service based on local community and/or agency needs. It is
suggested that you contact your nearest office to determine their specific hours of
operation. Part-time offices have the specific days and hours of service noted with their
listing on this page.Back to top 

 
5. Wage, Work Hours/Breaks, Labor Disputes, Final Paychecks & Failure To Pay

Overtime
These are issues handled by the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry. You may
send an email to    laborlaw@doli.virginia.gov [4]'; // -->  or visit their website address at 
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http://www.doli.virginia.gov [5].Back to top 
 

6. Work Permits For Youth
Work permits are required for individuals 14 and 15 years of age. The student should
contact their junior or high school's guidance counselor. The guidance counselors have
all the information and permission forms that need to be signed by a parent or guardian.
For further information concerning this matter, please go to the Virginia Department of
Labor and Industry’s website at: http://www.doli.virginia.gov/ [5]Back to top 

 

Anyone who has questions about Virginia Labor and Employment laws can submit them
to:laborlaw@doli.virginia.gov [6]. You will receive a response in 24 hours or less!
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